Holiday songs 3: Luckily that song was White Christmas and I made a killing.

DSC_0008Today I come to praise Christmas songs, not criticize.

Let’s take White Christmas. While it’s simple and probably one of the most played songs, holiday or otherwise, it’s still a great song. And yes, the Bing Crosby standard has to be the high water mark all other versions of the song hope to achieve.

However, this year I discovered the Michael Buble version. Prior to hearing this version the reggae version by Dobby Dobson was my favorite, mostly for the “Aye aye aye aye’m dreaming of a white Christmas” break in it. The Bing version would have been my second favorite.

The Michael Buble version incorporates both of these. It’s simply, for me, the best version of the song so far. It’s uplifting and happy. And, for my money, has to be the best thing Shania Twain has done musically, which isn’t really saying much.

It’s not at all like the song Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas, which I just today realized has to be the most depressing Christmas song of the whole bunch. It’s sad, it’s forlorn. It’s almost as if any time it’s sung it’s like “Have yourself a Merry Little Christmas…in spite of all that other stuff that’s going on in your life. Do try and enjoy something.”

Wait, I thought I said I wasn’t going to criticize any Christmas songs here today…

Ignore that last part there. Becoming a grumpy old man in the holiday season isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

DSC_0009

Leave a Reply

