Communication is the problem to the answer.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/head-turners/

Head Turners

We often hear strange snippets of conversation as we walk through public spaces. When was the last time you overheard something so interesting, ridiculous, or disturbing you really wanted to know what it was all about?

When i was living in NYC I took my then three year old daughter for a walk into Midtown Manhattan one Saturday afternoon. My wife of the time was at work and that was one of the favorite things for my daughter and I to do.

As usual, she had fallen asleep in her stroller and I was free to walk around and just take in all that is Midtown. We were right in front of the public library when I heard someone several yards away, shouting on his cell phone. It was a heated discussion but no one else seemed to want to notice. This, in case you don’t know, is typical of New Yorkers.

He was nothing special to look at. Basically, he could have been an extra on the street in any movie shot in Manhattan over the past fifty years; short, dark hair, about 30’ish.As I got closer, he got louder. Now shouting into the phone as I walked closer I heard. “No! Fuck you! Fuck you! No, fuck you! Fuck you!” followed by, “Ma! Ma! Ma! Will you listen to me?!”

I was only a couple feet past when he started talking at a normal volume, so I’ll never know what that mother said to her son to set him off like that but then calm right back down to a normal conversation.

In my head, on the other end of the phone, it went something like this.

“Are you kidding me!? Son, fuck you! No, fuck you! Look, I love you Vinnie but fuck you.”

Leave a Reply

